Print Page | Sign In | Join
News & Press: AISI Press Releases

AISI Announces Two New Member Companies

Thursday, December 12, 2019  
Posted by: Lura Bobbitt
Share |
AISI Announces Two New Member Companies

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) today welcomed two new member companies, North American Stainless, based in Ghent, KY; and Outokumpu, based in Calvert, AL. The AISI Board of Directors approved the measure last week, in addition to approving Olli-Matti Saksi, President of Outokumpu Stainless USA, and Cristobal Fuentes, President and CEO of North American Stainless, as members of the AISI Board of Directors.

Roger Newport, CEO of AK Steel and current chairman of the AISI Board of Directors said, “It is a pleasure to welcome Cris Fuentes and Olli-Matti Saksi to the Board of Directors. Cris and Olli-Matti have been strong allies on steel industry policy issues and we look forward to working more closely together with them and their teams to further strengthen the voice of our industry.”

“I’m pleased to welcome Outokumpu and NAS to AISI,” AISI President and CEO Thomas J. Gibson, said. “Their significant presence in North America will enhance AISI’s already established presence on Capitol Hill and our influence with policymakers. We believe AISI’s strong advocacy on behalf of the North American steel industry will deliver added-value to these companies’ customers, employees, shareholders and communities.”

“We are forging a strong partnership with our colleagues in the steel industry, which will benefit all of us who make steel in North America. I personally look forward to contributing to the important work that AISI does on behalf of our industry,” Fuentes said.

Saksi added, “We are committed to helping ensure that the American steel industry remains globally competitive and a foundation for American economic growth. Working with AISI, as a leading advocacy group on behalf of steelmakers, will help all of us amplify our messages not only in Washington but internationally as well.”

If you need assistance navigating the Members Only page, please contact Elizabeth Vago or Lura Bobbitt.

25 Massachusetts Avenue, NW Suite 800
Washington, DC 20001

2000 Town Center Suite 320
Southfield, MI 48075